O Emmanuel

O Emmanuel, our king and our lawgiver,

the hope of the nations and their Saviour:

Come and save us, O Lord our God.

Emmanuel, God with us.

Over the past two years I’ve lived closer to Missouri than I have my home state of Minnesota. It’s been a different change and I am really enjoying the opportunities my husband and I have had. Living close to Missouri I’ve really begun to understand the concept of “show me.” The people I live around are not cynical but they definitely want to be shown all the facts of a situation before they make a decision. I do not fault them, it just makes my approach to teaching very different as well.

In this time of anticipation, I can almost hear the Jewish people of Jesus’ time saying, show me. If you are God, show me. Just like we the people of today wanting everything at face value;  being Emmanuel, show me.

We all know the story of the Nativity. The star, the manger, the inn, shepherds, Wise Men, and the angels. They were definitely shown the way. Yet there are times when my doubting Thomas seems to come out, show me.

The Emmanuel wasn’t what they expected. The Jewish people wanted someone who would free them from the opressive Roman occupation. Yet he comes, meek and gentle, waiting for us to come to him.

This can be said for our everyday spiritual journey. God waits patiently for us to come to him. Yes, he could force us, but that would strip us of our free will; free will that makes our choice truly great.

I will not be posting much after today through the New Year as I am spending time between my family and my husband’s family. I wish you all a Merry and Blessed Christmas.

Leave a Reply

